Reclaimed Pallet Wood DIY Floating Bathroom Shelves

I absolutely LOVE working with pallet wood! The only hard part is customizing it to work with every idea and pattern I find or come up with. Pallet wood can be different colors, thicknesses, widths, and lengths. Which makes it a little challenging sometimes but I just love the rustic look it gives my projects.

IMG_3704

When I saw these shelves on http://www.shanty-2-chic.com I just had to have them and I knew just where I wanted to put them.

Simple-DIY-Floating-Shelves
I have a very small bathroom on the first floor of my home. Just a toilet, pedestal sink and a mirror. This is the most used bathroom in my home, especially in the morning before school. The problem with this bathroom is there is 0, none, nada, zip zilch, no storage. I like keeping things simple but…sometimes function is better.

IMG_3888

I used the plans from Shanty-2-Chic to help me design my own plans using pallet wood.

My shelves were going to be 10 1/2″ Deep x 31 3/8″ Wide x 3 1/3″ Thick

I used these materials to make them:

  • 12 pallet boards 3 1/2″ x  3/4″ x 37″
  • 3 pallet 2×4’s
  • Bought 2 pine boards for the front boards (I didn’t want the front boards to have nail holes in them like the pallet wood does)
  • Stain
  • Nail gun w/ brad nails
  • Dry wall screws
  • Saw
  • Kreg Pocket Jig w/ pocket hole screws
  • Level & tape measure
  • Pencil
  • Stud finder

Before I started, I had to do some math. I had to make sure that thickness of the pallet board on top, on bottom, and the frame in between, equalled the thickness of the front board. The pallet boards are 3/4″ thick, my front boards were 3 1/2″ wide, so 3/4″ x 2= 1 1/2″ and 3 1/2″ – 1 1/2″= 2″. So the width of my frame needed to be 2″. Next, I measures the width of the wall and decided how high I would like my shelves to be above the toilet. I drew a level line on the wall with a pencil where the top of the frame will be mounted for each shelf. I used a stud finder and made a small mark on the line where the studs were in the wall. I also check in the basement below the bathroom to see exactly where the plumbing ran through the walls. I did NOT want to accidentally screw my shelf into my pipes, oh what a nightmare that would have been.

I started with the frame. I took the 3, 2×4’s (actually size 1 1/2″x 3 1/2″) and cut them length wise with my table saw 2″ wide. Then I took the 2″ wide pieces and cut 6, 9″ long pieces and 2, 31 3/8″ long pieces. Next I drilled a pocket hole in each of the 9″ boards on 1 end.

IMG_3892

After the pocket holes were drilled I attached one 9″ board to each end of the 31 3/8″ long board. I also put one near the middle. I couldn’t put it in the very middle because that is where the stud was in the wall and I needed to be able to put a screw there. Next, I pre-drilled holes in the frame where I was going to drill the screws into the studs in the wall to mount it. I now had 2 finished frames.

IMG_3895

This is when I decided I better stain my pallet boards and 2 front boards, so they will have time to dry before I needed them. I lined them all up on some plastic in my basement and stained them. I would recommend doing this outside or some where well ventilated but…its winter in Ohio and I had no warmer choices.

IMG_3896

IMG_3897

While my stain was drying I mounted the frames to the wall with 3 drywall screws each. I would have done more but the wall only  had 1 stud on the back and 1 stud on each side wall. Once my stain had dried, almost dried, I was pretty anxious to finish, which ended up being a bad idea. I got stain every where and had to do a lot of touch up painting to my wall when I was done. Let your stain dry first! I carefully set 3 pallet boards on top of each frame and attached them with brad nails, to the frame. Then I did the bottom boards.

IMG_3900

Next, I attached the front boards with brad nails and I was DONE!!!

IMG_3903

I am still working on some decorations and other storage items for on the shelves but just couldn’t wait to share how they turned out.

IMG_3910

I LOVE them 🙂

IMG_3908 IMG_3909 IMG_3904

This was a very simple project that added a lot of function and depth to my tiny bathroom, YAH!!

Built with ❤

Sherrana

Needles & Nails

Leave a Reply

