How to use Vaseline to distress your painted projects?

I have been wanting to try this technique for awhile but wasn’t brave enough to do it on a large project. It was so much easier than I expected and I will definitely be using it again soon.

The supplies I used were:

A wood tray that came with a wedding gift, Vaseline (petroleum jelly), paint, and foam brush.

After I wiped all the dust and spiderwebs off the tray, I applied a little Vaseline to all the edges where I wanted to see distress.

Next, I used a foam brush and painted one coat of my new favorite color of paint on the tray.

I waited until the paint was dry to the touch.

Then this was the fun part. I started by using a sanding block to lightly sand off the paint around the edges. The paint came off so easily I could have used a paper towel. I am used to sanding for several minutes to get the look I like but I think I was done in 60 seconds 🙂

Now this next step was important. Anywhere the Vaseline was the paint was not going to stick for long. So to keep from losing more paint I covered it in a clear top coat.

That was it!! Super quick paint job. I love the results and can’t wait to paint something else 🙂

img_4046

Painted with ❤

Sherrana

Needles & Nails

3 thoughts on “How to use Vaseline to distress your painted projects?

  1. The tray looks fantastic! I’ve done a lot of distress painting but had never heard of the Vaseline technique – will definitely try it next time. (Even though certain male members of our family, when they first saw my antiqued kitchen cabinets after a re-do, asked me when I was going to finish painting. Philistines.) -Amy at http://www.momgoeson.wordpress.com

  2. Pingback: Old Antique Window Frame; DIY From Scrap wood | DIY at Needles and Nails

Leave a Reply

