Emery Dress Pattern by Christine Haynes; Plaid w/ Collar

Today I am sharing photos from a dress I made for my sister. For this dress I used the, quarter sleeve with a collar, Emery Pattern by Christine Haynes. I loved this pattern so much I also made another one for myself in the short sleeve, with no collar and a bow. That pattern review will be available on my blog tomorrow.

IMG_3829

The Emery Pattern and many others is available at PileOfabric.com.

IMG_5812

The fabric my sister chose was Folk Plaid by Art Gallery.

This is the softest cotton I have ever worked with. It drapes very nice and is perfect for dresses.

FAB-WFR-141_grande

Once I read through the pattern, cut out all the pattern pieces, and cut out the fabric, I started with the bodice pleats.

IMG_5813

I marked them on the wrong side of the fabric then folded them in half and sewed along the lines.
IMG_5815

I did this same step to the back and the lining pieces, then pressed them flat.
IMG_5821Next, I added the pockets to the skirt front and back pieces, gathered the waist of the skirt and sewed it to the bodice. When making clothes I like to finish my stitches with a serger to give it a clean look and to keep the seams from fraying when washed. IMG_5826

Getting to this step went pretty quick and smooth. The directions were very easy to follow up to this point.
IMG_5825

The next step was adding the invisible zipper. I had to press the teeth down and sew it to the back with my zipper foot.
IMG_5831 IMG_5834

After attaching the zipper I started on the collar. I had never done a collar like this before, it wasn’t hard, just several steps to follow to make sure it was centered and even. I guess I got distracted because I forgot to take any more photos before I finished 🙂 I also added the bodice lining, sleeves and hemmed the bottom of the skirt. I did take photos of these steps on the dress I made for myself, again those will be available on my blog tomorrow.

It is not easy making a dress for someone who’s not there. I couldn’t have her try it on as I went but I think it turned out pretty good.

IMG_3829

IMG_5840 IMG_5848 First time I made an invisible zipper actually look invisible. Yay!!

IMG_5851

Handmade with ❤

Sherrana

Needles & Nails

2 thoughts on “Emery Dress Pattern by Christine Haynes; Plaid w/ Collar

  1. Pingback: Emery Dress Pattern by Christine Haynes: Linen w/ Bow | DIY at Needles and Nails

Leave a Reply

